[Pharo-project] Canvas >>draw: anObject

Gary Chambers gazzaguru2 at btinternet.com
Tue Feb 8 17:38:50 CET 2011


That would be nicer/more-understandable (and more like virtually every other 
ui!).
There are a few cases that rely on it, however. Possibly not used/important 
though, or
even working now (flop out scrollbars anyone?).

Regards, Gary

----- Original Message ----- 
From: "Igor Stasenko" <siguctua at gmail.com>
To: <Pharo-project at lists.gforge.inria.fr>
Sent: Tuesday, February 08, 2011 4:28 PM
Subject: Re: [Pharo-project] Canvas >>draw: anObject


On 8 February 2011 16:54, Gary Chambers <gazzaguru2 at btinternet.com> wrote:
> It is all rather messy.
> Note that #fullBounds can be different to #bounds if submorphs lie outside
> the bounds of the owner (parent).
>
yeah, which again could be made a simpler life for everything by
placing morph one level higher,
to prevent submorphs to be outside of parent.

> Regards, Gary
>
> ----- Original Message ----- From: "Igor Stasenko" <siguctua at gmail.com>
> To: <Pharo-project at lists.gforge.inria.fr>; <fernando.olivero at usi.ch>
> Sent: Tuesday, February 08, 2011 3:42 PM
> Subject: Re: [Pharo-project] Canvas >>draw: anObject
>
>
> On 8 February 2011 16:37, Fernando Olivero <fernando.olivero at usi.ch> 
> wrote:
>>
>> There's a method in Morph>>clipsSubmorphs , that dictates that behavior.
>> surely is on by default .
>>
>
> no. this is different.
> It tells whether submorphs can be drawn outside of morph's bounds, but
> nothing about morph itself.
>
> In fact, i think many of these flags are redundant. For instance: if
> one wants submorphs to be drawn outside of morph's bounds,
> he can simply put them into morph's parent and so on up to topmost one
> - world..
>
>
>> Fernando
>>
>>
>> On Tue, Feb 8, 2011 at 10:20 AM, Stéphane Ducasse
>> <Stephane.Ducasse at inria.fr> wrote:
>>>
>>> Yes now apparently even if I draw outside the bounds they are clipped in
>>> pharo too. I have to check how.
>>>
>>> On Feb 8, 2011, at 12:51 AM, Igor Stasenko wrote:
>>>
>>>> On 7 February 2011 22:41, Stéphane Ducasse <stephane.ducasse at inria.fr>
>>>> wrote:
>>>>>
>>>>> Canvas>>draw: anObject
>>>>> ^anObject drawOn: self
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>> Now in SM we got
>>>>>
>>>>> SMxCanvas>>draw: anObject
>>>>> ^self clipBy: anObject bounds during: [ :c | anObject drawOn: c]
>>>>>
>>>>> and I'm wondering what is the exact difference.
>>>>> Any idea?
>>>>>
>>>>
>>>> yes,
>>>> SMxCanvas ensures that not matter what happens, a morph cannot draw
>>>> outside of its declared bounds.
>>>> Which usually should not happen anyways.. so it looks like an
>>>> additional rule enforcement.
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>> Stef
>>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> --
>>>> Best regards,
>>>> Igor Stasenko AKA sig.
>>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>
>
>
> --
> Best regards,
> Igor Stasenko AKA sig.
>
>
>



-- 
Best regards,
Igor Stasenko AKA sig.





More information about the Pharo-project mailing list